Do you pray the Liturgy of the Hours?

The Evolution of Prayer

I want to be a man of prayer. But like many of us, my prayer life is not where I want it to be. John Piper once said, “One of the great uses of Twitter and Facebook will be to prove at the Last Day that prayerlessness was not from lack of time.” I’m sure many of us could add other things to that list.

My parents prayed with my sister and me regularly when we were younger, and, like many evangelicals, I grew up very comfortable with extemporaneous prayer. They can be so beautiful. In college I started exploring beautiful written prayers written by the Puritans and compiled in Valley of Vision. Over the last year I’ve mixed between off-the-cuff prayers, written prayers from Catholic books, and rosaries.

I’m hoping the Liturgy of the Hours (wikipedia explanation) will help me grow closer to Christ. It’s not that complicated–lots of praying the psalms and some singing. I’ve prayed it some in the past, but bought the $20 app yesterday to keep track of the different prayers. My favorite part so far is the “sacred silence,” where a bell rings and there’s 15 seconds of focusing on being united with the Holy Spirit.

What works best for you?

2 thoughts on “Do you pray the Liturgy of the Hours?

  1. I’ve been praying the Liturgy of the Hours for the past 4 years or so. I love praying the psalms and the schedule of saying the prayers keeps me on track. I pray morning and evening prayer.

  2. I find the liturgy of hours to be quite interesting, especially as a continuing protestant. I found though, that I prefer to use Cramner’s daily office from the book of common prayer more in that its a beautiful summary of the liturgy of hours and more manageable in that it only has two times per day.

What do you think?

