The Gates of Hell Shall Not Prevail

Image

I don’t like sin. And I don’t like when sin hits the Catholic Church. It wasn’t fun to read about Cardinal O’Brien’s resignation. 

When I left seminary a friend’s mother was horrified to find out I was becoming Catholic. She went on to tell me about inappropriate behavior she had heard about in Catholic seminaries in the 1980s. I responded that The New York Times could report the next day that the Pope had a harem and I wouldn’t change my mind. God had led me to His Church. It was imperfect and full of sinners, but it was still His Church. 

2 thoughts on “The Gates of Hell Shall Not Prevail

  1. Only a mature faith could have elicited such a response in the face of scandal. I pray that more Catholics may possess the same deep faith that you have.

What do you think?

