Continuing the Journey

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 8.49.00 PM

It was almost a year ago today that I had my first breakdown about becoming Catholic. It’s hard to believe how much has changed. Since I last posted I’ve gotten engaged to a wonderful young Catholic woman, moved states for a job, started cantoring at Mass, and so much more.

There have been challenges, times I have felt frustrated or out of place as a convert. But I’ve also become more convinced of the truthfulness and beauty of the Church. Today was a good reminder. As I walked up to receive the Eucharist and prayed my usual, “Lord I believe, help my unbelief” prayer, my heart leapt for joy upon tasting the host: “Jesus!” A rush of comfort surged through my body. Jesus, the God-man, the one I had grown to love through the epistles, the one whom I had wept tears of gratefulness over during the alter calls of my childhood–He was present. Alleluia, alleluia.

 

5 thoughts on “Continuing the Journey

  1. Welcome back, Anthony! Ever since I came across your blog around middle of 2012, I got hooked to reading your posts. They were sincere, heartfelt, and always with a palpable sense of awe before the truth. After an absence of 4 months, i’m glad you’ve started posting again.

What do you think?

