Eucharistic Adoration: A Deepening of My Evangelical Worship Experience

I went as a chaperone to a Steubenville youth conference a few weeks ago. I was very familiar and comfortable with the atmosphere as a former evangelical: 2,500 high school students doing the wave, hitting beachballs, and singing loudly to Chris Tomlin and Hillsong. As the evening progressed the songs became more reverent and the students more intent on connecting with God. This was fairly typical. At an evangelical conference the altar call would have come next.

Then something changed. 30 priests processed down the center of the gym with a monstrance, and we all went onto our knees on the hard varnished floor. The songs that I had memorized and even led church services with took on a new meaning. I was not abandoning my previous faith so much as I was seeing it deepened and fulfilled. It was so much richer–Christ was present in a special way in our midst. When I sang this song, I didn’t have to use my imagination and picture Jesus in heaven (or think of the “falling down” part as metaphorical). He was right in front of me.

We fall down
We lay our crowns
At the feet of Jesus

The greatness of
Mercy and love
At the feet of Jesus

We cry holy, holy, holy
We cry holy, holy, holy
We cry holy, holy, holy
Is the lamb

(Photo Source) 

8 thoughts on “Eucharistic Adoration: A Deepening of My Evangelical Worship Experience

  1. Last summer, I was part of a youth weekend at Martyr’s Shrine, in Midland, Ontario, Canada. There were approx. 600 teenagers and young adults, as well as a few of us old fogies. We had Eucharistic Adoration on Saturday evening in the church and what a hopeful sight it was…..the future of the Catholic Church kneeling in Adoration before Jesus.

  2. The hard part is getting the kids to realize that the same God that was present there in the Eucharist is at their home parish as well.

  3. I know that this youth festivals and gatherings are sometimes criticized. Certainly, there is a point to what you say about the momentum. But let me give a testimony that they actually contribute to the (New) Evangelization.
    I’m from Europe, more preziese from Cologne in Germany and I watched with mixed feelings as our city was preparing for World Youth Day in 2005. I wondered whether many young people just came for the party or if they just wanted to use an opportunity to get away from home for the summer.
    But this summer was an amazing gift to our city and our church here. Cologne is always a lovely city and its residents are known for its relaxed lifestyle and celebratory mood, but I’ve never seen my neighbors so happy as during those few days in the summer of 2005. It was a Summer dream, the Catholic version.
    In particular, the confession and Eucharistic Adoration got a boost of energy that is not evaporated. Some students from the nearby Bonn were inspired to set up group to promote Eucharistic adoration and confession. Today in Cologne, we have a worship night and regularly every month, more than 3,000 people. This has now got around and more and more open cathedrals and parish on a regular basis for such a night.
    These nights make a big difference for young people who often feel very lonely in a completely secularised environment. It can be a help to the churches in the inner cities, which often have difficulty generating new starting points in the youth ministry. And – this is important, too – it encourages priests who otherwise have little opportunity to hear confession.
    So yes, it is often difficult to come off the mountain, but if the vision can change the people and things.

    • Wow thank you for sharing! That is so encouraging! I agree. I spent two weeks in Bonn and made a day trip to Cologne before becoming Catholic. Very cool to hear how the momentum continued after WYD.

  4. Pingback: In Support of Michael Gungor | Evangelical to Catholic

What do you think?

