A Terrifying Book

By October I was starting to realize early church history looked more Catholic than I thought. I was terrified when this book title popped up on Amazon. I knew I had a lot of work to do in Protestant apologetics before I could read it and not feel threatened. The day I decided to leave seminary I purchased the Kindle version and shook my head in amazement as former evangelical Devin Rose poignantly explained all of the contradictions of Protestantism that were slowly becoming evident.

If Protestantism is true, then God gave the Church authority to make binding decisions about what is truth and what is heresy for over 700 years, and all Christians accepted these decisions as authoritative. But then, inexplicably, God disallowed the Church to hold any further authoritative councils. The Church that Christ built was thus left in a state where she could not make binding declarations on truth and heresy, and she remains so to this day.

Devin Rose, If Protestantism is True, p 30

5 thoughts on “A Terrifying Book

  1. I read this book right at the beginning of all my Catholic questioning and I have to admit, I wasn’t particularly impressed. I felt like Devin slightly over-played the Catholic hand and my kindle version has notes all over it, huffing and puffing about every tiny thing I thought was wrong or at least debatable. Having said all that, I did end up Catholic so… 😉

    Also, I wanted to say hi and thanks for the follow! Funnily enough, it was two posts Devin did, one on your conversion and another on ‘what to do after you’ve converted’ that finally convinced me to actually do this blogging thing I’d been thinking about. So thank you for being such an obliging, if unwitting, catalyst!

What do you think?

