The Conversation That Never Happened

Image

Catholic: Hey man, I really appreciate your zeal for Christ. I was wondering, though, have you ever read the Catechism or been to a Mass? 

Anthony: I was at a funeral once, but that’s about it. I don’t know much about the Catechism because I just try and stick with the Bible. 

Catholic: Well, I don’t want to be awkward, but if I were you I would want to at least take a look. I mean, I assume you think we Catholics are saved by good works and worship Mary, but that goes completely against Church teaching. And the Mass is really beautiful. It has a ton of scripture and a rich history.  It’s cool for you to be Protestant, but Catholics are half the world’s Christians. Just make sure you understand the religion before making too many assumptions. 

Anthony: I never thought of it that way. Thanks, I’ll do that. (Or, start arguing. I guess we’ll never know! 🙂

(Photo Source) 

4 thoughts on “The Conversation That Never Happened

  1. As a Protestant, I have grown in God’s grace toward by brothers and sisters across the Tiber. There is much in the Mass to be appreciated by Protestants even if our understanding of the Eucharist is dramatically different. I get tired of my Protestant brothers and sisters rejecting caricatures.

    • Great comment! Yeah, a lot of my opposition to Catholicism was based on misunderstanding. There are many reasons to disagree with Catholicism, but it’s best if they’re based on official positions. Seems like you know that! Thanks for the comment.

What do you think?

